<< Back

Kazakhstan Highlights

  Kazakhstan gained independence on December 16, 1991. Nur-Sultan is the capital city of the country. Kazakh language is the official language of Kazakhstan and Russian language has the status of the language of interethnic communication. The unit of currency used in Kazakhstan is tenge. The population of Kazakhstan exceeds 19 million people.

  Covering an area of 2.724 million square kilometers, the country has the ninth largest territory in the world. In the north and the west, the country shares border with Russia (7,591 km), with China in the east (1,783 km), with Kyrgyzstan (1,242 km), with Uzbekistan (2,351 km) and Turkmenistan (426 km) in the south. The total length of land border of Kazakhstan with other states amounts to 13,200 km. Kazakhstan is the largest land locked country in the world.

  The basis of Kazakhstan’s prosperity is the stable growth in all sectors of its economy, international recognition and political stability. Kazakhstan is a country looking into the future, which retains its culture, traditions and successfully realizes its huge creative potential in the nowadays dynamic world.

Charyn Canyon in South East Kazakhstan
Otrar, also known as Farab, was a significant ancient cultural and trade center. In addition, it was of great diplomatic and military strategic importance.
The Astana Opera is the largest theater in Central Asia.
Bayterek (“tall poplar [tree]”), is a monument and observation tower in Nur-Sultan. A tourist attraction popular with foreign visitors and native Kazakhs alike, it is emblematic of the city, which became capital of the country in 1997.

Posts Release